Toronto Maple Leafs

Toronto Maple Leafs

Home » Hockey » NHL » Toronto Maple Leafs

The Toronto Maple Leafs are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Atlantic division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. Nicknamed the Leafs, the team was founded in 1917 making them one of the oldest teams in the NHL. They are one of the NHL’s Original Six franchises that include the Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers, and Boston Bruins. The Maple Leafs have 13 Stanley Cup championships which is second only to the 24 won by the Canadiens. However, the Leafs last championship came in the 1966-1967 season, and they have won just one division title since that season, 1999-2000.

The team plays its home games at Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, Ontario. The arena, built in 1998, is shared with the Toronto Raptors of the NBA. Because of their long history as an organization, the Maple Leafs have had 62 former players inducted into the NHL Hall of Fame. Doug Gilmour, Mats Sundin, Johnny Bower, and Turk Broda are some of the most notable Hall of Famers inducted as Maple Leafs. They have also retired the numbers of 19 former players which is one of the highest number of retired numbers in the league.

Location: Toronto, Ontario

Head Coach: Sheldon Keefe

League: NHL

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Atlantic Division


2019 Win-Loss: 28-18-7
2019 ATS: 22-28