Detroit Red Wings

Home » Hockey » NHL » Detroit Red Wings

The Detroit Red Wings are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Atlantic division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. The Red Wings were founded in 1926 as the Detroit Cougars before switching to the Falcons in 1930. In 1932, the team switched again to the Red Wings which has been its name to this day. They are one of the NHL’s Original Six franchises that include the Chicago Blackhawks, Montreal Canadiens, Toronto Maple Leafs, New York Rangers, and Boston Bruins. The Red Wings hold the record for the most Stanley Cup championships won by any team in the United States with 11, and they are third overall in the NHL behind the Montreal Canadiens and the Maple Leafs. The Red Wings also have 19 division titles, 6 conference championships, and 6 Presidents’ Trophies (awarded to the team with the most regular season points in the NHL). 

The Red Wings play their home games at Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, Michigan. The team has had 64 former players inducted into the NHL Hall of Fame. Perhaps the most famous of this group of players are the Howes. Gordie Howe, nicknamed “Mr. Hockey,” played for the Red Wings between 1946 and 1971, and his Hall of Fame son Mark Howe played for the team from 1992 to 1995. Some other standout Hall of Famers that played for the Red Wings include Brett Hull, Adam Oates, Luc Robitaille, Chris Chelios, and Steve Yzerman. The Red Wings have retired the numbers of Terry Sawchuk, Red Kelly, Nicklas Lidstrom, Ted Lindsay, Gordie Howe, Alex Delvecchio, Sid Abel, and Steve Yzerman.

Location: Detroit, Michigan

Head Coach: Jeff Blashill

League: NHL

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Atlantic Division


2019 Win-Loss: 12-38-4
2019 ATS: 20-33