Ottawa Senators

Ottawa Senators

Home » Hockey » NHL » Ottawa Senators

The Ottawa Senators are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Atlantic division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. The Senators were founded in 1992 as an expansion team. The original Ottawa Senators played in the NHL from 1917 to 1934 and won 11 Stanley Cup championships. Since returning to the league in the 1992-1993 season, the team has yet to win a championship. They have won four division titles and one Presidents’ Trophy (awarded to the team with the most regular season points in the NHL) in 2002-2003. In the 2006-2007 season, the Senators had a great playoff run and made it to the Stanley Cup Final before losing to the Anaheim Ducks.

The Senators play their home games at Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa, Ontario. As a relatively young franchise, the Senators have had just one NHL Hall of Famer play for their team. Dominik Hasek was the Senators goalie between 2005 and 2006 and was inducted to the Hall of Fame as a member of the Buffalo Sabres in 2014. The team has retired three numbers: number 4 for defenseman Chris Phillips, number 8 for right winger Frank Finnigan, and number 11 for right winger Daniel Alfredsson.

Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Head Coach: D.J. Smith

League: NHL

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Atlantic Division


2019 Win-Loss: 18-24-11
2019 ATS: 27-23