Buffalo Sabres

Buffalo Sabres

Home » Hockey » NHL » Buffalo Sabres

The Buffalo Sabres are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The Sabres were founded as an expansion team in 1970 with the Vancouver Canucks when the league expanded to 14 teams. The team plays in the Atlantic division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. The Sabres have advanced to the Stanley Cup two times, the 1974-1975 season and the 1998-1999 seasons, but they have yet to win a championship. The Sabres have won six division championships, most recently in the 2009-2010 season. The Sabres and the Canucks are tied for being the longest continually active NHL franchise to never win a Stanley Cup championship.

The Sabres play their home games at the KeyBank Center in Buffalo, New York. Buffalo is known for being one of the best sports cities in America, and the crowd is one of the craziest in the NHL. The team has had 11 players inducted into the NHL Hall of Fame. Perhaps none are more famous than “The French Connection” line which consisted of Gilbert Perreault, Rick Martin, and Rene Robert. All three players have had their numbers retired and have a statue outside of the KeyBank Center. The Sabres also had one of the best goalies to ever play in the NHL in Dominic Hasek. Hasek played for the team between 1992 and 2001.

Location: Buffalo, New York

Head Coach: Ralph Kreuger

League: NHL

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Atlantic Division


2019 Win-Loss: 23-23-7
2019 ATS: 28-22