Tampa Bay Lightning

Tampa Bay Lightning

Home » Hockey » NHL » Tampa Bay Lightning

The Tampa Bay Lightning are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Atlantic division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. The team was founded as an expansion team in 1992 along with the Hartford Whalers (now Carolina Hurricanes). The Lightning have had somewhat limited success since joining the league in 1992, but they did win the Stanley Cup championship at the end of the 2003-2004 season. The Lightning have also won four division championships and two conference Championships. After the 2018-2019 season, the team was awarded the Presidents’ Trophy for having the most points in the NHL when they tied a league record with 62 wins in the regular season. However, the team lost in the first round of the playoffs to the Columbus Blue Jackets.

The Lightning play their home games at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Florida. The team had five NHL Hall of Famer players on their roster, and one inducted as a member of the team, Martin St. Louis in 2018. They also retired the jersey numbers of two players, Vincent Lecavalier and Martin St. Louis. Lecavalier played center for the Lightning from 1998 to 2013, and St. Louis played right wing for the team from 2000 to 2014. They were considered one of the greatest offensive pairs to ever play together.

Location: Tampa, Florida

Head Coach: Jon Cooper

League: NHL

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Atlantic Division


2019 Win-Loss: 33-15-5
2019 ATS: 21-29