Pittsburgh Penguins

Pittsburgh Penguins

Home » Hockey » NHL » Pittsburgh Penguins

The Pittsburgh Penguins are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Metropolitan division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. The Penguins were founded in 1967 as one of the NHL’s first expansion teams when the league shifted from six teams to 12 teams. The Penguins have a long history of success and have won five Stanley Cup championships. They are tied with the Edmonton Oilers for the most Stanley Cup championships since the NHL-WHA merger. They won back-to-back titles in 1991 and 1992 as well as 2016 and 2017. The Penguins also won the Stanley Cup championship at the end of the 2008-2009 season. Along with their five Stanley Cup championships, the team has won eight division titles, six conference championships, and one Presidents’ Trophy (awarded to the team with the best regular season record in the NHL).

The Penguins play their home games at PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Because of their long history of success, the Penguins have had some all-time great players play for their organization. Sidney Crosby, the team’s captain since 2007, is widely regarded as one of the greatest players of all time and has led the team to three Stanley Cup championships while also winning two NHL MVPs. In total, the Penguins have had 12 NHL Hall of Fame players on their team and future Hall of Famer Jaromir Jagr. Mario “Super Mario” Lemieux played for the team from 1984-1997 and 2000-2006 and won three NHL MVPs. His number 66 is retired by the Penguins along with Michel Briere’s number 21. Lemieux is now part owner of the team.

Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Head Coach: Mike Sullivan

League: NHL

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Metropolitan Division


2019 Win-Loss: 33-14-5
2019 ATS: 23-27