New Jersey Devils

New Jersey Devils

Home » Hockey » NHL » New Jersey Devils

The New Jersey Devils are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Metropolitan division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. The Devils were founded in 1974 as the Kansas City Scouts before moving to Colorado two years later and becoming the Rockies. The franchise stayed in Colorado until 1982 when they moved to New Jersey and became the Devils. The Devils franchise did not make the playoffs for their first 13 seasons in existence. However, things turned around in 1988, and the team missed the playoffs just three times between 1988 and 2012, including 13 appearances in a row from 1997 to 2010. The Devils have won three Stanley Cup championships – 1995, 2000, and 2003. The team also played in the 2001 and 2012 Stanley Cup Finals. The Devils have won 9 division titles since their move to New Jersey with the most recent coming in the 2009-2010 season.

The devils play their home games at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey. They are currently the only major professional sports team located in New Jersey after the NBA’s Nets moved to Brooklyn in 2012. The Devils have retired the numbers of five of their former players. Defensemen Ken Daneyko (number 3), Scott Stevens (number 4), Scott Niedermayer (number 27), left winger Patrik Elias (number 26), and goalie Martin Brodeur (number 30) were all instrumental in the Devils’ string of consecutive playoff appearances and their three Stanley Cup championships.

Location: Newark, New Jersey

Head Coach: Alain Nasreddine

League: NHL

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Metropolitan Division


2019 Win-Loss: 18-24-10
2019 ATS: 24-26