Washington Capitals

Washington Capitals

Home » Hockey » NHL » Washington Capitals

The Washington Capitals are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Metropolitan division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. The team was founded in 1974 as an expansion franchise along with the Kansas City Scouts (now the New Jersey Devils). The Capitals did not find much success in their first 25 years of existence, winning just one division title and one conference championship. However, after being bought by Ted Leonsis and Monumental Sports & Entertainment in 1999, the team has won 11 division championships and 3 Presidents’ Trophies (given to the NHL team with the most points at the end of the regular season). The Capitals also won their first Stanley Cup championship at the end of the 2017-2018 season.

The Capitals play their home games at Capital One Arena in Washington, D.C. The best player in Capitals history, and one of the best in the history of the NHL, is right wingers Alexander Ovechkin. Since being drafted in 2007, Ovechkin has won three league MVP awards and has been selected to the All-Star game in all but three seasons. He has also led the league in goals scored eight times, including four straight from 2013 to 2016. Paired with other Capitals draft picks like defensemen Nicklas Backstrom and Mike Green and goalie Braden Holtby, the team dominated the 2010s.

Location: Washington, D.C.

Head Coach: Todd Reirden

League: NHL

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Metropolitan Division


2019 Win-Loss: 36-13-5
2019 ATS: 27-24