Philadelphia Flyers

Philadelphia Flyers

Home » Hockey » NHL » Philadelphia Flyers

The Philadelphia Flyers are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Metropolitan division of the NHL’s Eastern Conference. The Flyers were founded in 1967 as a part of the NHL’s expansion from six teams to 12 teams. The Flyers became the first expansion team to win a Stanley Cup championship when they did at the end of the 1973-1974 season. They won again the following year but have not won again since despite making the Stanley Cup Final five more times. The Flyers have also won 16 division titles with their most recent coming in the 2010-2011 season. 

The Flyers play their home games at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The team shares the Wells Fargo Center with the Philadelphia 76ers of the NBA. The team has had 13 NHL Hall of Famers play for them including Peter Forsberg, Chris Prongers, Eric Lindros, and Mark Howe. The Flyers have retired the numbers of six former players. The most recent number retired was Eric Lindros’s number 88 in 2018.

Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Head Coach: Alain Vigneault

League: NHL

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Metropolitan Division


2019 Win-Loss: 29-17-7
2019 ATS: 31-21