New Orleans Saints

New Orleans Saints

Home » Football » NFL » New Orleans Saints

The New Orleans Saints are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The Saints were founded on November 1, 1966, and earned their name because November 1 is All Saints’ Day in the Catholic faith. The team was not competitive throughout its first 20 years in existence and earned the nickname “The Aint’s” from their fans. However, after 1987, the team has had some very successful seasons with 13 playoff appearances, 8 division championships, and 1 Super Bowl victory – Super Bowl XLIV in 2009. The Saints famously were kept out of the 2019 Super Bowl because of a blown call by the referees in the final minutes of the NFC Championship Game against the Los Angeles Rams.

The Saints have played their home games at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana since 1975. During Hurricane Katrina, the Superdome was used as shelter in 2005 before the roof collapsed. The team played their 2005 home games at Tiger Stadium in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas, and Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. The Saints have had three NFL Hall of Famers: linebacker Rickey Jackson, offensive tackle Willie Roaf, and placekicker Morten Andersen. Current Saints quarterback Drew Brees will be inducted into the Hall of Fame after his retirement.

Location: New Orleans, Louisiana

Head Coach: Sean Peyton

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC South