Atlanta Falcons

Atlanta Falcons

Home » Football » NFL » Atlanta Falcons

The Atlanta Falcons are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The Falcons nearly joined the American Football League (AFL) but ultimately joined the NFL in 1965. It took the team 13 seasons before their first playoff appearance and 15 seasons before their first division title. Overall, the Falcons have six division titles and fourteen playoff appearances. The team won conference championships in both 1998 and 2016 but have not won a Super Bowl. The Falcons famously had a 28-3 lead in Super Bowl LI against the Patriots but blew the lead and lost the game.

The Atlanta Falcons have played their home games at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia since 2017. The stadium is considered to be one of the nicest and most advanced in the NFL. Defensive end Claude Humphrey is the only Falcons player to be inducted into the Hall of Fame based on his service with the Falcons, but they have had some great players in the history of their franchise. Tony Gonzalez played five years with the team and is considered to be one of the greatest tight ends of all time, and Deion Sanders played cornerback for the Falcons for four seasons. Michael Vick was one of the most exciting and explosive quarterbacks to ever play in the NFL before his arrest and release from the Atlanta Falcons in 2006.

Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Head Coach: Dan Quinn

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC South