Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Home » Football » NFL » Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The Buccaneers (Bucs) joined the NFL in 1976 as an expansion team – the same year as the Seattle Seahawks. The franchise became the first team since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970 to win a division championship, playoff game, and to host and play in a conference championship. All three of these occurred in 1979. Overall, the Bucs have had somewhat limited success as a franchise. They have won six division championships and have made ten overall playoff appearances. Their best season came in 2002 when they won Super Bowl XXXVII against the Oakland Raiders. The Bucs have not made the playoffs since 2007.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers have played their home games at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida since 1998. The stadium is famous for having a 103-foot, 43-ton replica pirate ship in its north end zone. Canons are fired on the ship for each point scored by the Bucs. The team has had three NFL Hall of Fame players, all of whom have had their numbers retired by the team. Defensive end Lee Roy Selmon (#63), defensive tackle Warren Sapp (#99), and linebacker Derrick Brooks (#55) are all in the NFL Hall of Fame.

Location: Tampa, Florida

Head Coach: Bruce Arians

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC South