Minnesota Timberwolves

Minnesota Timberwolves

Home » Basketball » NBA » Minnesota Timberwolves

The Minnesota Timberwolves (T-Wolves) are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Timberwolves compete in the Northwest Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. The team was founded in 1989 and struggled throughout its first six seasons. However, after drafting forward Kevin Garnett in the 1995 NBA draft, things began to change for the franchise. The T-Wolves made the playoffs in eight consecutive seasons from 1997 to 2004. In 2004, the T-Wolves won their first division title and advanced to the Western Conference Finals game before losing to the Los Angeles Lakers. The team did not make the playoffs again until 2018. 

The T-Wolves play their home games at Target Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Kevin Garnett has been, by far, the most successful player in franchise history. The future Hall of Famer won the T-Wolves only NBA Most Valuable Player award in 2004. After being traded to the Boston Celtics in 2007, Garnett returned to the T-Wolves in 2015 to finish out his career with the team. The team has not been very successful since the early 2000s due to poor drafting and a lack of free agents signing with the T-Wolves.

Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Head Coach: Ryan Saunders

League: NBA

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Northwest Division