Oklahoma City Thunder

Oklahoma City Thunder

Home » Basketball » NBA » Oklahoma City Thunder

The Oklahoma City Thunder are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Thunder compete in the Northwest Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. The team was founded in 1967 as the Seattle SuperSonics (Sonics). As the Sonics, the franchise made the NBA playoffs 22 times, won their division 6 times, and won the conference 3 times. The Sonics won the 1979 NBA championship as well. In 2008, the Sonics moved to Oklahoma and became the Oklahoma City Thunder. The Thunder have won five division titles including four straight from 2011 to 2014. The team also won the Conference Finals in 2012 before losing in the NBA Finals to the Miami Heat.

The Thunder play their home games at Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. 

Since becoming the Thunder, the team drafted three future Hall of Famers in guards Russell Westbrook and James Harden and forward Kevin Durant. All three players have won the NBA Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards, but the Thunder never reached its full potential with them together before they all left for different teams. As the Sonics, the team had a constant flow of great players in their organization. Gary Payton, Ray Allen, Jack Sikma, and Lenny Wilkens are some of the most notable NBA Hall of Famers that played for the Sonics.

Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Head Coach: Billy Donovan

League: NBA

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Northwest Division