Denver Nuggets

Denver Nuggets

Home » Basketball » NBA » Denver Nuggets

The Denver Nuggets are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Nuggets compete in the Northwest Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. Founded in 1967 as the Denver Rockets, the team was a charter member of the American Basketball Association (ABA). The team changed its name to the Nuggets in 1974. The franchise won three division titles in the ABA and lost to the New York Nets in the final ABA championship game in 1976. After the ABA-NBA merger in 1976, the Nuggets have won eight division titles but have yet to win a conference championship.

The Denver Nuggets play their home games at the Pepsi Center in Denver, Colorado. Their era of greatest success as a team came after drafting forward Carmelo Anthony in 2003. The team did not miss the playoffs in Anthony’s seven full seasons with the team. When he retires, he will likely become the Nuggets fourth NBA Hall of Famer joining Dan Issel, David Thompson, and Alex English.

Location: Denver, Colorado

Head Coach: Michael Malone

League: NBA

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Northwest Division