Portland Trail Blazers

Portland Trail Blazers

Home » Basketball » NBA » Portland Trail Blazers

The Portland Trail Blazers (Blazers) are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Trail Blazers compete in the Northwest Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. The Blazers were founded in 1970 and have enjoyed a lot of NBA success since their origin. The team has made the playoffs 34 out of their 48 seasons in existence. It has won six division titles and three conference titles during that time as well. The Blazers won the 1977 NBA championship by defeating the Philadelphia 76ers in six games.

The Blazers play their home games at the Moda Center in Portland, Oregon. The team holds the NBA record of 814 consecutive sellouts at their arena between 1977 and 1995. Bill Walton is considered to be the most successful player in Trail Blazers history. He won the 1977 NBA Finals Most Valuable Player (MVP) award and the 1978 NBA regular season MVP award. The team has also had NBA Hall of Famers Clyde Drexler and Arvydas Sabonis play a significant portion of their careers with the Blazers.

Location: Portland, Oregon

Head Coach: Terry Stotts

League: NBA

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Northwest Division