Philadelphia Phillies

Home » Baseball » MLB » Philadelphia Phillies

The Philadelphia Phillies are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Phillies are a member of the East division in the National League (NL). Founded in 1883 as the Philadelphia Quakers, the team changed its name to the Quakers/Phillies in 1884 and the Phillies in 1890. In close to 140 years of existence, the Phillies have won seven NL Pennants and two World Series titles, most recently in 2008 against the Tampa Bay Rays. The Phillies have won 11 NL East division titles including five straight from 2007 to 2011 but have yet to qualify for a Wild Card berth.

The Phillies play their home games at Citizens Bank Park in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Citizens Bank Park is known for having some of the best stadium food options in the MLB. The Phillies have had six players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame, including Chuck Klein, Mike Schmidt, and Steve Carlton. Schmidt is considered one of the greatest third baseman of all time with 548 career home runs and 1,595 career RBIs. Carlton is one of just four pitchers to have over 4,000 career strikeouts.

Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Head Coach: Joe Girardi

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL East