New York Mets

New York Mets

Home » Baseball » MLB » New York Mets

The New York Mets are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Mets are a member of the East division in the National League (NL). Founded in 1962, the team was created to replace the Brooklyn Dodgers and New York Giants (both left in 1957) as a New York representative in the NL. In their inaugural season, the Mets finished with a 40-120 record which is the worst record since the MLB went to a 160 (and now 162) game schedule. The following years were not much better until the “Miracle Mets” in 1969 that won the World Series against the Baltimore Orioles. This series is considered to be one of the biggest upsets in MLB history. Since 1969, the Mets have won four NL Pennants and one World Series title (1986). In total, the team has won six division titles and has three Wild Card berths.

The Mets play their home games at Citi Field in Flushing Meadows, New York City, New York. the team has had two players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame – catcher Mike Piazza and pitcher Tom Seaver. Nicknamed “Tom Terrific,” Seaver was a 12 time All-Star and had 311 career wins and 3,640 career strikeouts. Piazza holds the record for most career home runs by a catcher with 427. Along with Piazza and Seaver, the Mets have retired the numbers of Gil Hodgers and Casey Stengel. Jackie Robinson’s number 42 is retired across the entire MLB.

Location: Flushing Meadows, New York City, New York

Head Coach: Luis Rojas

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL East