Atlanta Braves

Home » Baseball » MLB » Atlanta Braves

The Atlanta Braves are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Braves are a member of the East division in the National League (NL). The team was founded in 1871 as the Boston Red Stockings. The franchise did not become the Braves until 1941 and did not move to Atlanta until 1966, after a 12-year stop in Milwaukee. The team has won 17 NL Pennants with 8 in the 1800s, 9 in the 1900s, and none in the 2000s. The Braves have also won three World Series titles (1914, 1957, 1995). The team is famous for winning their division every year from 1991 to 2005 and making the World Series in 1991, 1992, 1995, 1996, and 1999. However, that era is largely viewed as a disappointment since the team won just one World Series title during that span.

The Braves play their home games at SunTrust Park in Cobb County, Georgia. SunTrust Park is one of the newest stadiums in the MLB and faced some scrutiny when built because it replaced Turner Field which was only 19 years old. The Braves have had some great players come through their organization with 13 inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame. Hank Aaron, who is in second place on the MLB all-time career home run list, was one of the best hitters to ever play the game, and John Smoltz had 3,084 career strikeouts, 213 wins, and 154 saves. Smoltz was part of what is considered the greatest rotation of all time with Tom Glavine and Greg Madduz throughout the 1990s and early 2000s.

Location: Cobb County, Georgia

Head Coach: Brian Snitker

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL East