Miami Marlins

Home » Baseball » MLB » Miami Marlins

The Miami Marlins are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Marlins are a member of the East division in the National League (NL). Founded as an expansion team in 1993, the team was known as the Florida Marlins until 2012 when they changed their moniker to Miami. The Marlins have had a strange trajectory as a franchise. The team has made the playoffs just twice and both times as a Wild Card in 1997 and 2003. However, those two seasons both resulted in NL Pennants and World Series titles when they beat the Cleveland Indians and New York Yankees, respectively.

The Marlins play their home games at Marlins Park in Miami, Florida. Marlins Park consistently has one of the lowest attendance records of any stadium in the MLB. The Marlins have yet to have a player inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame, but they have had some great players in their organization including Trevor Hoffman, Mike Piazza, Iván Rodríguez, and Tim Raines.

Location: Miami, Florida

Head Coach: Don Mattingly

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL East