Cincinnati Reds

Home » Baseball » MLB » Cincinnati Reds

The Cincinnati Reds are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Reds are a member of the Central division in the National League (NL). Founded in 1882, the team was called the Red Stockings until 1890 when they became the Reds. From 1954-1958, the team was known as the Redlegs before switching back to the Reds in 1959. The Reds have won nine NL Pennants and five World Series titles with the most recent of each coming in 1990. While a member of the NL West, the Reds won seven division titles, six in the 1970s. As a member of the NL Central, the Reds have won three division titles and have on Wild Card berth. 

The Reds play their home games at Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati, Ohio. While still playing home games at Riverfront Stadium, the Reds dominated the NL West in the 1970s. Nicknamed the “Big Red Machine,” the Reds won six division titles, four National League Pennants, and two World Series titles. The team featured Pete Rose, Johnny Bench, Joe Morgan, and Tony Pérez, and they were managed by MLB Hall of Famer Sparky Anderson. Rose has famously been held out of the Hall of Fame for gambling on baseball. At the start of the 2010s, it seemed like the Reds might be poised to create another Big Red Machine. But, after making the playoffs in 2013, the team has begun to crumble.

Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Head Coach: David Bell

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL Central