St. Louis Cardinals

St. Louis Cardinals

Home » Baseball » MLB » St. Louis Cardinals

The St. Louis Cardinals are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Cardinals are a member of the Central division in the National League (NL). Founded in 1882, the franchise began as a minor league organization called the St. Louis Brown Stockings. Promoted to the Major Leagues in 1892, the team changed their name to the Browns and again to the Cardinals in 1900. The team has won 19 NL Pennants which is the third most behind only the San Francisco Giants and the Los Angeles Dodgers. Their 11 World Series titles is the most in the National League and the second in the MLB to the New York Yankees. Their most recent Pennant came in 2013, and their most recent World Series title was in 2011 when they beat the Texas Rangers. The Cardinals also have 14 division titles, 11 in the NL Central and 3 in the NL East.

The Cardinals play their home games at Busch Stadium in St. Louis, Missouri. As one of the most successful franchises in MLB, the Cardinals have had many great players in their organization. The team has had 26 players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame, including Dizzy Dean, Bob Gibson, Lou Brock, Rogers Hornsby, and Ozzie Smith. Cardinals Hall of Famer Stan Musial has the fourth most hits in MLB history with 3,630.

Location: St. Louis, Missouri

Head Coach: Mike Shildt

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL Central