Chicago Cubs

Home » Baseball » MLB » Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs are a professional baseball team that plays in Major League Baseball (MLB). The Cubs are a member of the Central division in the National League (NL). The team was founded in 1876 as the White Stockings. After trying out the names Colts and Orphans, the franchise landed on the Cubs in 1903. The Cubs have won 17 NL Pennants with 16 coming before 1946. The team has also won three World Series titles (1907, 1908, 2016). The Cubs are famous for having the longest Pennant drought (71 years) and World Series championship drought (108 years) in MLB history. The Cubs have won five NL Central division titles, two NL East division titles, and three Wild Card berths. The 1906 Cubs hold the record for best winning percentage in the modern-era of of the MLB with a win-loss record of 116-36 (76.3%).

The Cubs play their home games at the historic Wrigley Field in Chicago, Illinois. Wrigley field, located on the North Side of Chicago, is famous for the ivy growing on its outfield walls. It has been the Cubs home stadium since 1916. The Cubs have had 17 players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame. Potentially the most famous Cubs inductee is Ernie Banks. Banks played for three seasons in the Negro Leagues before integrating into the MLB in 1953. He is tied for 23rd on the all-time MLB home run list with 512 career homers.

Location: Chicago, Illinois

Head Coach: David Ross

League: MLB

Conference: National League

Division: NL Central