Seattle Seahawks

Seattle Seahawks

Home » Football » NFL » Seattle Seahawks

The Seattle Seahawks are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The team was founded in 1976 as an NFL expansion team – the same year as the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. It took the Seahawks until 1983 to make their first playoff appearance and 1988 to win their first division championship. The Seahawks played one season in the National Football Conference (NFC) before switching to the American Football Conference (AFC). During their time in the AFC, the Seahawks made five playoff appearances and won two division titles. The team then became the first in NFL history to switch conferences twice as they moved back to the NFC in 2002. Their NFC run has been a lot more successful with 13 playoff appearances and 8 division titles in 18 seasons. They also won Super Bowl XLVIII in 2014 by defeating the Denver Broncos. However, the Seahawks are also famous for losing the next season’s Super Bowl to the New England Patriots by throwing a controversial interception at the goal line to end the game.

The Seahawks have played their home games at CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Washington since 2002. CenturyLink Field has become one of the biggest home field advantages in the NFL because of the crowd that attends these games. Nicknamed the “12th Man” the crowd has famously set the Guinness World Record for the loudest noise at a sporting event twice (both in 2013). The Seahawks have had four Hall of Famers, headlined by wide receiver Steve Largent who never played for great teams but is considered one of the greatest receivers of all time.

Location: Seattle, Washington

Head Coach: Pete Carroll

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC West