Arizona Cardinals

Arizona Cardinals

Home » Football » NFL » Arizona Cardinals

The Arizona Cardinals are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The Cardinals were founded in 1898 as the Morgan Athletic Club, and they are the oldest continuously run professional football franchise in the United States. Beginning play in Chicago, the Cardinals were one of the original NFL teams in 1920. The franchise then moved to St. Louis and played there from 1960 to 1987 before moving to Arizona in 1988. Despite their long history as a franchise, the team has amassed just 10 playoff appearances and only 8 since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. They have just seven division titles (five since the merger) and two league championships with their last coming in 1947. The Cardinals have made just one Super Bowl appearance which was a loss to the Pittsburgh Steelers in 2009. 

The Cardinals have played their home games at State Farm Stadium in Tempe, Arizona since 2006. The field is considered to be one of the nicest in the NFL and has hosted two Super Bowls and will host another in 2023. The Cardinals have retired the numbers 8, 40, 77, 88, and 99 from ever being worn again in franchise history. Perhaps the most famous of these numbers is safety Pat Tillman’s number 40. Tillman played for the team from 1998-2001 before enlisting in the United States Army after the attacks on September 11, 2001. Tillman was Killed In Action in 2004 and is still honored by the team to this day.

Location: Tempe, Arizona

Head Coach: Kliff Kingsbury

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC West