Minnesota Vikings

Minnesota Vikings

Home » Football » NFL » Minnesota Vikings

The Minnesota Vikings are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The franchise began play in 1961 and struggled to be competitive for their first few seasons. In 1968, something clicked for the team, and they won their first division championship. Subsequently, the Vikings have won 19 more division championships, 4 conference championships, and have made 30 playoff appearances. The team made Super Bowl appearances at the end of the 1969, 1973, 1974, and 1976 seasons but have yet to win a Super Bowl.

The Vikings have played their home games at U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis, Minnesota since 2016. Previously, the Vikings had shared the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome with the Minnesota Twins. Now that the team plays outside, there is an extra element added to their home games during the winter season. The Vikings famously had the best defensive line in football during the 1960s and early 1970s which earned the team the nickname “Purple People Eaters” during that time frame. The Vikings have had 12 players enter the NFL Hall of Fame headlined by quarterback Fran Tarkenton and wide receivers Randy Moss and Cris Carter.

Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Head Coach: Mike Vimmer

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC North