Green Bay Packers

Green Bay Packers

Home » Football » NFL » Green Bay Packers

The Green Bay Packers are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The Packers are the last of what some call “small town teams” which were common in professional football in the early 20th century. The team’s history can be traced back to 1896, but they did not join the NFL until 1921. The Packers have had great success in both the pre and post AFL-NFL merger in 1970 with 33 total playoff appearances, 18 total division championships, and 9 total conference championships. The Packers have won nine league championships before the Super Bowl era and four Super Bowl championships with their most recent being in the 2010 season. The Packers won Super Bowls I and II.

The Green Bay Packers have played their home games at Lambeau Field in Green Bay, Wisconsin since 1957. The field is named after their franchise’s founder Earl “Curly” Lambeau. The Packers have had 25 organization members inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame which is second all time to the Chicago Bears. Their most recent inductee was offensive guard Jerry Kramer, and perhaps their most famous inductees were quarterback Bart Starr in 1977 and quarterback Brett Favre in 2016.

Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin

Head Coach: Matt LaFluer

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC North