Chicago Bears

Chicago Bears

Home » Football » NFL » Chicago Bears

The Chicago Bears are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The Bears are one of the two remaining franchises – the Arizona Cardinals are the other – from the NFL’s founding in 1920. The Bears won 10 division titles, 8 NFL championships, and 2 conference championships before the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. However, the team has not enjoyed the same amount of success after the leagues merged. The Bears have had 15 playoff appearances, 11 division championships, and 2 conference championships. But they have only won one Super Bowl (1985) and appeared in one other (2006). The 1985 team is considered to have the best defense in the history of the NFL.

The Bears have played their home games at Soldier Field in Chicago, Illinois since 1971 with the exception of one season in 2002 when the stadium was being renovated. Throughout their storied history, the Bears have had the most enshrined NFL Hall of Famers with 28 with their most recent inductee being middle linebacker Brian Urlacher in 2018. The team also has 14 retired uniform numbers which is the most in the NFL. Despite their history of success, the Bears have been below average in recent years.

Location: Chicago, Illinois

Head Coach: Matt Nagy

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC North