Charlotte Hornets

Charlotte Hornets

Home » Basketball » NBA » Charlotte Hornets

The Charlotte Hornets are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Hornets compete in the Southeast Division of the Eastern Conference of the NBA. The Hornets were founded in 1988 as an expansion franchise in the NBA before moving to New Orleans and taking the Hornets name with them in 2002. In 2004, the Charlotte Bobcats were announced as an expansion franchise to the league and remained the Bobcats until 2014 when the New Orleans franchise rebranded as the Pelicans and returned the Hornets name and records to Charlotte. 

The Hornets play their home games at the Spectrum Center in Charlotte, North Carolina. The team is majority owned by NBA Hall of Famer Michael Jordan. However, Jordan has proven to be a better player than owner as the Hornets have had almost no success in their franchise history. The Hornets have made the playoffs just eight times and only twice since 2004. They have never won a division, conference, or NBA title in their franchise history.

Location: Charlotte, North Carolina

Head Coach: James Borrego

League: NBA

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Southeast Division