Miami Heat

Miami Heat

Home » Basketball » NBA » Miami Heat

The Miami Heat are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Heat compete in the Southeast Division of the Eastern Conference of the NBA. Founded in 1988, the team struggled to compete in the league until the hiring of Pat Riley as team president and eventual coach. The Heat won their first division title in 1997 and have won 12 subsequent titles. They have five conference championships and three NBA championships (2006, 2012, 2013). After signing LeBron James in 2010, the Heat made the NBA Finals four straight years from 2011-2014 and won two NBA championships.

The Heat play their home games at American Airlines Arena in Miami, Florida. Shooting guard Dwyane Wade was a major catalyst in all three of their NBA championships. He first won a title playing alongside center Shaquille O’Neal in 2006. Then, Wade teamed up with forwards LeBron James and Chris Bosh to create what became known as the “Big Three.” The “Big Three” won four straight conference titles and two straight NBA championships before disbanding following the 2014 season.

Location: Miami, Florida

Head Coach: Erik Spoelstra

League: NBA

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Southeast Division