Washington Wizards

Washington Wizards

Home » Basketball » NBA » Washington Wizards

The Washington Wizards are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Wizards compete in the Southeast Division of the Eastern Conference of the NBA. Founded in 1961, the franchise has had four different team names and played in three different cities. Originally the Chicago Packers, the team changed its name to the Chicago Zephyrs for the 1962-1963 season before moving to Baltimore and becoming the Bullets in 1963. The team then moved to Washington, D.C. and became the Capital Bullets before the Washington Bullets. Eventually in 1997, the team landed on the Washington Wizards which they still are presently. Despite all of the name changing and moving, the team has had a lot of success throughout its history. The Wizards have made 28 playoff appearances, won seven division titles, and won four conference titles. They also won the 1978 NBA Finals.

The Wizards, who play their home games at Capital One Arena in Washington, D.C., have had some great players throughout their franchise history but perhaps none better than Wes Unseld. Unseld is the only player in Wizards history to win a league Most Valuable Player (MVP) award (1969) and an NBA Finals MVP (1978). He is also one of four Wizards players to win the Rookie of the Year award. Walt Bellamy, Terry Dischinger, and Earl Monroe are the others.

Location: Washington, D.C.

Head Coach: Scott Brooks

League: NBA

Conference: Eastern Conference

Division: Southeast Division