Golden State Warriors

Golden State Warriors

Home » Basketball » NBA » Golden State Warriors

The Golden State Warriors are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Warriors compete in the Pacific Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. founded in Philadelphia in 1946, the Warriors moved to San Francisco in 1962. They did not change their moniker to Golden State until 1971. The team won the inaugural Basketball Association of America (changed two years later to the NBA) in 1947 and won again in 1956. The team then tapered off in success until 1975 when they won their third NBA championship. In recent years, the Warriors dominated the NBA from 2015 to 2019, appearing in five straight NBA Finals and winning three. In total, the Warriors have won 11 conference titles, 7 division titles, and 6 NBA championships.

The Warriors play their home games at Chase Center in San Francisco, California. They have played in both Oakland and San Francisco throughout their franchise history, so they have a strong fan base in the Bay Area. The team has been led by seven NBA Hall of Famers throughout its storied history. Notable among them are Wilt Chamberlain, Rick Barry, Chris Mullin, and Tom Gola. In recent years, the trio of Stephen Curry, Klay Thompson, and Draymond Green was crucial to their NBA Finals success. During the 2015-2016 season, the Warriors won their first 24 games and finished the season 73-9 which is an NBA record. However, the team lost the NBA Finals in seven games to the Cleveland Cavaliers.

Location: San Francisco, California

Head Coach: Steve Kerr

League: NBA

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Pacific Division