Sacramento Kings

Sacramento Kings

Home » Basketball » NBA » Sacramento Kings

The Sacramento Kings are an American professional basketball team in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Kings compete in the Pacific Division of the Western Conference of the NBA. The Kings are one of the oldest continuously operated basketball franchises in the United States. Beginning in 1923 as the Rochester Seagrams in a semi-professional league, the franchise eventually joined the NBA as the Rochester Royals in 1949. From there, the team moved to Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1957 and Kansas City, Missouri, in 1972 before finally landing in Sacramento in 1985. Despite the long history as a franchise, the Kings have not had a long history of success. They have won just three division titles with the most recent coming in 2003. They have also won just one NBA championship which game in 1951 when they were still located in Rochester, New York. The Kings had the best record in the NBA during the 2001-2002 NBA season but controversially lost in the Western Conference Finals against the Los Angeles Lakers.

The Kings play their home games at Golden 1 Center in Sacramento, California. The Kings are the only major professional sports franchise located in Sacramento. The franchise has had 9 Hall of Famers and has retired 11 uniform numbers. Some of their most notable players have been Vlade Divac, Nate Archibald, Chris Webber, and Oscar Robertson.

Location: Sacramento, California

Head Coach: Luke Walton

League: NBA

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Pacific Division