Leicester City

Leicester City

Home » Soccer » EPL » Leicester City

Leicester City Football Club is a professional soccer club that competes in the English Premier League (EPL), the top league in English soccer. The team was founded in 1884 as Leicester Fosse F.C. The club joined the Football League in 1894 and changed their name to Leicester City in 1919. The club was not one of the original 22 members of the EPL and did not make its first appearance in the league until 1994-1995. They were relegated the next season before staying in the EPL every season from 1996 to 2004 except for the 2002-2003 season which they spent in the Championship. Leicester City was again relegated in 2004 and even dropped as low as League One in 2008 before making it back to the EPL in the 2014-2015 season. In 2015-2016, Leicester City pulled off one of the greatest upsets in sports history when they finished in first place and won the EPL, just two seasons removed from the Championship. The club had entered the season with 5,000 to 1 odds to win the EPL. Since 1992, Leicester City has won two League Cups. They made it to the qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League in 2016-2017. Leicester City has played their home matches at King Power Stadium in Leicester, England, since 2002. The stadium is one of the smallest in the EPL and holds 32,243 people.

Location: Leicester, England

Head Coach: Brendan Rodgers

League: EPL