Home » Soccer » EPL

The English Premier League (EPL) is the top league in English soccer. It is made up of 20 teams from all over England and operates on a promotion and relegation system with teams entering and leaving the league each year. The league was founded in 1992 when the 22 teams in the English Football League First Division decided to break away from the English Football League (EFL). The league was reduced to 20 teams in 1995. The EFL still exists and is comprised of the Championship, League One, and League Two. There have been 49 teams in the EPL since its inception in 1992, and six of them have won the title. Manchester United holds the record of EPL titles with 13, followed by Chelsea with 5, Manchester City with 4, Arsenal with 3, and Blackburn and Leicester City each with 1. 

There are 20 teams in the EPL, and each team plays the other 19 teams twice throughout the course of the season. The season runs from mid-August to mid-May and the teams each play each other once at home and once on the road. Winning teams receive three points while losing teams receive zero points. There are no tiebreakers for matches in the EPL, so if the teams are tied after 90 minutes plus added team, each team receiver one point. The EPL teams are ranked by total points at the end of the season to determine who wins the championship. If there is a tie in the rankings, goal differential is used, and a further tie invokes goals scored on the season. If there is still a tie after that, the teams occupy the same position unless the position is for the championship, relegation, or qualification to other competitions. In this case, a play-off match at a neutral venue will decide the standings.

The lowest three teams in the EPL standings are relegated to the Championship for the following season. In the Championship, the top two teams are automatically promoted to the EPL while the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth placed teams play a round robin style tournament to decide the final team that will be promoted. For the European competitions, the top four teams in the EPL qualify for the UEFA Champions League. The winners of the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League also qualify. If this means that six English teams qualify, then the fourth place team in the EPL will instead play in the UEFA Europa League. The fifth-placed team in the EPL and the winner of the FA Cup will qualify for the UEFA Europa League. If either of these teams have already qualified for the UEFA Champions League, then this bid can revert to the sixth or seventh place teams.