Los Angeles Kings

Los Angeles Kings

Home » Hockey » NHL » Los Angeles Kings

The Los Angeles Kings are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Pacific division of the NHL’s Western Conference. The Kings were founded in 1967 as a part of the NHL’s expansion from six teams to 12 teams. The Kings have won just one division title in their team history, but they have won two Stanley Cup championships. The first championship came at the end of the 2011-2012 season and the second at the end of the 2013-2014 season. The Kings also made the Stanley Cup Finals in 1992-1993 before losing to the Montreal Canadiens.

The Kings play their home games at the Staples Center in Los Angeles, California. The team shares the Staples Center with the NBA’s Los Angeles Lakers and Los Angeles Clippers. They also share it with the WNBA’s Los Angeles Sparks. The Kings have had 15 former players inducted into the NHL Hall of Fame and none more famous than Wayne Gretzky. Gretzky was traded from the Edmonton Oilers to the Los Angeles Kings in 1988 in what is considered to be the biggest NHL trade of all time. He played with the team until 1996. While he never won a Stanley Cup championship with the team, he did help bring them to the Finals in 1993.

Location: Los Angeles, California

Head Coach: Todd McLellan

League: NHL

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Pacific Division


2019 Win-Loss: 19-30-5
2019 ATS: 28-25