Dallas Stars

Home » Hockey » NHL » Dallas Stars

The Dallas Stars are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Central division of the NHL’s Western Conference. The franchise was founded as an NHL expansion team in 1967 as the Minnesota North Stars. Due to financial troubles, the team merged with the Cleveland Barons in 1978. It was not until 1993 that the team moved to Dallas, Texas, and became the Dallas Stars. The Stars have won eight division championships and two Presidents’ Trophies (given to the NHL team with the most regular season points). The Stars made consecutive Stanley Cup Finals in 1999 and 2000. They won their only Stanley Cup championship in 1999 by defeating the Buffalo Sabres but lost in 2000 to the New Jersey Devils.

The Stars play their home games at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas. The team shares the arena with the NBA’s Dallas Mavericks. The first Dallas Stars player inducted into the NHL Hall of Fame was Brett Hull in 2009. Since that time, Stars players Ed Belfour, Joe Nieuwendyk, and Mike Modano have been inducted. The Stars have retired the jersey numbers of five players – Neal Broten, Bill Goldsworthy, Mike Modano, Bill Masterton, and Jere Lehtinen.

Location: Dallas, Texas

Head Coach: Rick Bowness

League: NHL

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Central Division


2019 Win-Loss: 30-18-5
2019 ATS: 25-26