Calgary Flames

Calgary Flames

Home » Hockey » NHL » Calgary Flames

The Calgary Flames are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Pacific division of the NHL’s Western Conference. The Flames were founded in Atlanta in 1972 and played there until moving to Calgary in 1980. The team became the first NHL franchise in Calgary since the 1923-1924 Calgary Tigers. The Flames have won one Stanley Cup championship which game in the 1988-1989 season but have appeared in the Finals in 1986 and 2004 as well. The team has won seven division titles and back-to-back Presidents’ Trophies (awarded to the team with the most points in the league) in 1987-1988 and 1988-1989.

The Flames play their home games at Scotiabank Saddledome in Calgary, Alberta. The arena also hosted ice hockey and figure skating events at the 1988 Winter Olympics. The Flames have had nine former players inducted into the NHL Hall of Fame, and they have retired the numbers of three former players – Lanny McDonald’s number 9, Jarome Iginla’s number 12, and Mike Vernon’s number 30. Iginla is considered by many to be the greatest player in Flames history and played for the team from 1996 to 2013.

Location: Calgary, Alberta

Head Coach: Geoff Ward

League: NHL

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Pacific Division


2019 Win-Loss: 27-21-6
2019 ATS: 18-34