Arizona Coyotes

Arizona Coyotes

Home » Hockey » NHL » Arizona Coyotes

The Arizona Coyotes are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Pacific division of the NHL’s Western Conference. The franchise was founded in 1972 as the Winnipeg Jets and a member of the World Hockey Association (WHA). The team joined the NHL in 1979 as a part of the NHL-WHA merger. The franchise was located in Winnipeg until 1996 when they moved to Phoenix, Arizona, and became the Coyotes. The Coyotes have had very limited success as an organization and have only won one division title. They have yet to reach the Stanley Cup Finals.

The Coyotes play their home games at Gila River Arena in Glendale, Arizona. The team has been marked by instability since its move to Phoenix. The NHL even took ownership of the franchise in 2009 when former owner Jerry Moyes declared bankruptcy. The team has had two former players inducted into the Hall of Fame in Brett Hull and Mike Gartner. The two played just a combined 4 years on the team, though. The Coyotes have retired seven numbers, but the majority of those were carried over from their time as the Winnipeg Jets.

Location: Phoenix, Arizona

Head Coach: Rick Tocchet

League: NHL

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Pacific Division


2019 Win-Loss: 27-21-7
2019 ATS: 29-24