Anaheim Ducks

Anaheim Ducks

Home » Hockey » NHL » Anaheim Ducks

The Anaheim Ducks are a professional North American ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). The team plays in the Pacific division of the NHL’s Western Conference. The Ducks were founded in 1993 as the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim. The team was named after the 1992 hit Disney film The Mighty Ducks. However, after Disney sold the team in 2006, they were renamed to the Anaheim Ducks. The Ducks have made the playoffs 14 times in their 26 year history, and they have won six division titles. The Ducks have won one Stanley Cup championship which came in the 2006-2007 season, and made another Stanley Cup Final in 2003 but lost to the New Jersey Devils.

The Ducks play their home games at the Honda Center in Anaheim, California. The team has had seven former players inducted into the NHL Hall of Fame including Teemu Selanne, Scott Niedermayer, Paul Kariya, and Chris Pronger. Pronger was instrumental in helping the Ducks win their first and only Stanley Cup championship and played part of the Stanley Cup series with a separated shoulder. The Ducks have retired Teemu Selanne’s number 8, Paul Kariya’s number 9, and Scott Niedermayer’s number 27. Of the three, Selanne was the longest tenured member of the Ducks as he played with the team from 1996 to 2001 and 2005 to 2014.

Location: Anaheim, California

Head Coach: Dallas Eakins

League: NHL

Conference: Western Conference

Division: Pacific Division


2019 Win-Loss: 22-26-5
2019 ATS: 26-25