Washington Redskins

Washington Redskins

Home » Football » NFL » Washington Redskins

The Washington Redskins are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). Found in 1932, the team began its history as the Boston Braves. The team changed its name to Redskins after just one season. They played five seasons in Boston before moving to Washington in 1937. The Redskins won two championships (1937, 1942) before the AFL-NFL merger and won three Super Bowls (1982, 1987, 1991) as the current iteration of the franchise. Coached by Joe Gibbs, the teams from 1982 to 1991 were considered to be some of the best in NFL history. However, since their last Super Bowl victory, the Redskins have only won their division three times, made five postseason appearances, and had nine winning seasons. 

The Redskins have played their home games at FedExField in Landover, Maryland since 1997. Despite playing in Maryland, the Redskins still use the Washington, D.C. location in their name. According to many sports fans and writers, Redskins owner Dan Snyder is one of the worst in all of sports, and he is a big reason for their recent failures. Before Snyder arrived, the team enjoyed great success on the backs of Hall of Famers Sammy Baugh, Sonny Jurgensen, and Charley Taylor to name a few. The Redskins also enjoyed a very successful season with rookie quarterback Robert “RG3” Griffin III in 2012 which brought hope to the franchise before a career altering injury derailed his time with the team.

Location: Landover, Maryland

Head Coach: Bill Callahan

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC East