Tennessee Titans

Tennessee Titans

Home » Football » NFL » Tennessee Titans

The Tennessee Titans are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). Originally the Houston Oilers, the team relocated and renamed themselves in 1997. As the Houston Oilers, the franchise won two American Football League (AFL) championships before the 1970 AFL-NFL merger. They also won six division titles, one conference championship, and appeared in the NFL playoffs ten times. Their success has been far more limited since moving to Tennessee with only three division championships and seven playoff appearances. 

After playing their first two seasons as the Tennessee Oilers and playing at the Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium in Memphis and Vanderbilt Stadium in Tennessee, the team changed their name to the Titans and moved into Nissan Stadium in Nashville, Tennessee, where they still play today. The franchise is famous for its star quarterbacks Warren Moon (Hall of Fame) and Steve “Air” McNair and its great running backs Earl Campbell (Hall of Fame) and Eddie George. The Titans are also famous for losing Super Bowl XXXIV at the end of the 1999 NFL season by a literal yard as Kevin Dyson could not stretch across the goal line before time expired.

Location: Nashville, Tennessee

Head Coach: Mike Vrable

League: NFL

Conference: American Football Conference

Division: AFC South