Pittsburgh Steelers

Home » Football » NFL » Pittsburgh Steelers

The Pittsburgh Steelers are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The Steelers joined the NFL in 1933 as the Pittsburgh Pirates. The team, owned by Art Rooney and his family since its inception, changed its name to the Steelers in 1940. The Steelers have played in (16) and hosted (11) more conference championship games than any other team in NFL history. They are tied for the most Super Bowl wins in NFL history at six with the New England Patriots. Their most recent Super Bowl Championship was in 2008, and their most recent conference championship was in 2010.

The Steelers play their home games at Heinz Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Amazingly, the Steelers have had just three coaches and have never fired a coach since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. Chuck Noll coached the team from 1969 to his retirement in 1992 after which Bill Cowher took over until his resignation in 2007. After Cowher resigned, the Steelers hired Mike Tomlin was hired as the Steelers coach in 2007, and he became the first African-American head coach in the Steelers 75-year history. The Steelers have had two of the best quarterbacks in NFL history with Terry Bradshaw (four Super Bowl victories) and Ben Roethlisberger (two Super Bowl victories).

Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Head Coach: Mike Tomlin

League: NFL

Conference: American Football Conference

Division: AFC North