New York Giants

New York Giants

Home » Football » NFL » New York Giants

The New York Giants are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). Founded in 1925, the Giants are one of the first teams to join the NFL. Of the five teams that joined in 1925, the Giants are the only team that still exists today. Boasting four NFL championships (1927, 1934, 1938, 1956) before the AFL-NFL merger and four Super Bowl championships (1986, 1990, 2007, 2011), the Giants are one of the most accomplished teams in NFL history. Since 1970, the Giants have won eight division titles, five conference championships, and have made sixteen playoff appearances. Nicknamed the “New York Football Giants” to differentiate the team from the old New York Giants baseball team, the team beat what many consider to be the greatest team ever assembled in the 2006-2007 New England Patriots. The Patriots were 18-0 entering the Super Bowl but lost to the Giants in 2007.

The team plays its home games at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. They share the stadium with the New York Jets. Much like the Jets, the Giants have kept the New York part of their name despite playing their home games in New Jersey. The Giants have had 14 NFL Hall of Famers headlined by Frank Gifford, Michael Strahan, and Lawrence Taylor. Taylor, considered by many to be the greatest defensive player of all time, is one of two defensive players to ever win the NFL Most Valuable Player award.

Location: East Rutherford, New Jersey

Head Coach: Pat Shurmur

League: NFL

Conference: National Football Conference

Division: NFC East