New England Patriots

New England Patriots

Home » Football » NFL » New England Patriots

The New England Patriots are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). Founded in 1959 as the Boston Patriots, the team was a part of the American Football League (AFL) until the NFL-AFL merger in 1970. Owned by Robert Kraft, the Patriots hold the record for most Super Bowl appearances (11) and are tied with the Pittsburgh Steelers for the record of most Super Bowl victories (6). Kraft bought the team in 1994 for $172 million. It is now valued at close to $3.8 billion due to their great success in the 21st century. The Patriots are 106-70-4 against the spread (ATS) since 2010, which is the best in the NFL.

The Patriots have played their home games at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts since 2002. The team has been nearly unstoppable since 2000 when they signed head coach Bill Belichick and drafted quarterback Tom Brady. Often called the greatest quarterback and coach duo of all time, the two have broken numerous NFL records including most wins in a ten-year period (126 from 2003-2012), the longest winning streak in NFL history (October 2003 to October 2004), and the most consecutive division titles won by a team (10 straight from 2009 to present day). The Patriots have also won 16 AFC East titles, 9 AFC conference championships, and 6 Super Bowls with Brady and Belichick.

Location: Foxborough, Massachusetts

Head Coach: Bill Belichick

League: NFL

Conference: American Football Conference

Division: AFC East