Los Angeles Chargers

Home » Football » NFL » Los Angeles Chargers

The Los Angeles Chargers are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The team began play in 1960 as a member of the American Football League (AFL) and played their first season in Los Angeles before moving to San Diego in 1961. The Chargers joined the NFL after the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. The team won one league championship (1963) as part of the AFL and has yet to make a Super Bowl appearance since joining the NFL. They have had some NFL success with 14 playoff appearances and 10 division titles, but they are mainly known for underachieving in the playoffs. This predominantly comes from the mid 2000s when they consistently had one of the best rosters but never made the Super Bowl. 

The Chargers moved back to Los Angeles in 2017 and played their home games at Dignity Health Sports Park in Carson, California. In 2020, the team will be moving into SoFi Stadium which they will share with the Los Angeles Rams. The Chargers have nine Hall of Famers headlined by Dan Fouts, Kellen Winslow, Junior Seau, and LaDanian “LT” Tomlinson. LT is considered by many to be one of the top 10 greatest running backs to ever play in the NFL.

Location: Carson, California

Head Coach: Anthony Lynn

League: NFL

Conference: American Football Conference

Division: AFC West