Las Vegas Raiders

Las Vegas Raiders

Home » Football » NFL » Las Vegas Raiders

The Oakland Raiders are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The team was founded in 1960 as part of the American Football League (AFL) and won three division titles and one championship before the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. After the move to the NFL, the Raiders had early success with seven division titles and three Super Bowl championships by 1983. However, the team has not had much success in the 21st century with just four playoff appearances and none after their 2002 Super Bowl appearance until 2016.

Owned and operated by Al Davis (father of current owner Mark Davis), the team left Oakland in 1982 to move to Los Angeles. After staying for 13 seasons, the team moved back to Oakland in 1995. The Raiders are moving to Las Vegas at the start of the 2020 season to play in Allegiant stadium, leaving behind RingCentral Coliseum and the famous “Black Hole” fan base in Oakland. The Raiders are famous for having some of the greatest players to ever play in the NFL including Howie Long, Marcus Allen, and Ken Stabler but also having some of the biggest draft busts of all time including JaMarcus Russell and Derrius Heyward-Bey. The team also had some great coaches like John Madden and Al Davis but hired and fired 6 coaches between 2004 and 2014.

Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

Head Coach: Jon Gruden

League: NFL

Conference: American Football Conference

Division: AFC West