Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas City Chiefs

Home » Football » NFL » Kansas City Chiefs

The Kansas City Chiefs are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The team was created in 1960 as the Dallas Texans as part of the American Football League (AFL). In 1963, the team relocated to Kansas City and changed their name to the Chiefs. The Chiefs joined the NFL as part of the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. The Chiefs won the AFL championship in both 1962 and 1966 (but lost Super Bowl I to the Packers) and won Super Bowl IV in the 1969 season. The team made and won their second Super Bowl in the 2019 season.. They have also made 18 playoff appearances and have won 10 division titles since joining the NFL. The Hunt family has owned the team since its inception as a franchise. 

The Chiefs play their home games at Arrowhead Stadium in Kansas City, Missouri. The Chiefs have lost 12 of their last 14 playoff games despite having great talent during that time frame. Their coach, Andy Reid, has the most career victories without winning a championship. The team has also had some great players including Derrick Thomas, Priest Holmes, Will Shields, and Patrick Mahomes.

Location: Kansas City, Missouri

Head Coach: Andy Reid

League: NFL

Conference: American Football Conference

Division: AFC West