Indianapolis Colts

Indianapolis Colts

Home » Football » NFL » Indianapolis Colts

The Indianapolis Colts are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). Founded in 1953, the Colts were originally located in Baltimore and played in the American Football League (AFL). The Colts joined the NFL in 1970 after the AFL-NFL merger, and they relocated to Indianapolis in 1984. Since moving to Indianapolis, the Colts have appeared in the playoffs 16 times, won two conference championships, and won one Super Bowl. They defeated the Chicago Bears in Super Bowl XLI in 2006. They previously won a Super Bowl as the Baltimore Colts in Super Bowl V in 1970.

The Colts have played their home games at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana since its completion in 2008. Under star quarterback and one of the greatest of all time Peyton Manning, the Colts made the playoffs 11 times, won 7 division titles, 2 conference championships and a Super Bowl. After Manning left the Colts for the Broncos, the team drafted Andrew Luck and experienced more success making the playoffs four times and winning two division titles. The team has been in relative turmoil after Luck’s shocking retirement right before the start of the 2019 season.

Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Head Coach: Frank Reich

League: NFL

Conference: American Football Conference

Division: AFC South