Denver Broncos

Denver Broncos

Home » Football » NFL » Denver Broncos

The Denver Broncos are a professional American football team in the National Football League (NFL). The team was founded in 1960 as a member of the American Football League (AFL) before joining the NFL as part of the AFL-NFL merger. The Broncos did not have a winning season for their first 12 years as a franchise, and they did not make the playoffs until 1977. That year was the first of their three Super Bowl wins (1998 and 2015 were the other two). The team has made it to eight Super Bowls overall which is tied for second best all time. The Broncos have won 15 division titles and have 22 playoff appearances in their 45 NFL seasons. 

The team plays its home games at Empower Field in Mile High in Denver, Colorado. John Elway, who some consider the greatest quarterback of all time, played for the Broncos from 1983 to 1998 and has been their general manager since 2011. The team also has four other Hall of Famers in Shannon Sharpe, Terrell Davis, Brian Dawkins, and Champ Bailey. Thanks, in part, to the acquisition of quarterback Peyton Manning in 2012, the Broncos have had some good success in the 2010s.

Location: Denver, Colorado

Head Coach: Vic Fangio

League: NFL

Conference: American Football Conference

Division: AFC West